The Arts and Sciences’ Continuing Response to the Challenges of our Times


The goal of this year’s SFRC is to highlight continued efforts of CAS students and faculty REPS to contribute to knowledge development in their respective fields of study and to support multisectoral responses to local and national issues, particulary in the time of a global pandemic.

Nov 9 (Monday)

Opening Ceremony and Plenary Sessions
Master of Ceremonies: Dr. Mark Oliver S. Llangco
09:00-09:15 Opening & Welcome
09:15-09:45 First Plenary Talk
Co-founder and V.P. Research & Development
Diagnostics for the Real World (DRW) Ltd.
Moderator: Prof. Angella Melissa Carlos

09:45-10:15 Second Plenary Talk
Research Professor
Institute of Clinical Epidemiology
National Institutes of Health, UP Manila
Moderator: Dr. Annabelle T. Abrera
Parallel Sessions and Poster Viewing
10:30-12:00 Parallel Sessions (Oral Presentations)
01:00 – 01:30 Opening of Virtual Poster Gallery

Nov 16 (Monday)

Plenary Session and Closing Ceremonies
Master of Ceremonies: Dr. Ronilo Jose D. Flores
09:00-09:30 Third Plenary Talk
Chief Planetary Doctor
PH Lab
Moderator: Mr. Rayven P. Aledo
09:45-11:15 Invited Talks
11:30-11:45 Awarding & Closing

Plenary Speakers

Dr. Emmanuel S. Baja
Research Professor
Exposure Assessment, Epidemiology, and Risk Lab, NIH UP Manila

Dr. Cesar Nadala
VP, Research and Development
Diagnostics for the Real World, Ltd.

Dr. Renzo Guinto
Chief Planetary Doctor
PH Lab

Invited Speakers

Dr. Marvin A. Albao ​Computational Approaches to Materials Science Problems: Investigation of Impurity-driven Enhanced Nucleation of Aluminum Chains on Si-based Surfaces Using Kinetic Monte Carlo Simulations
Dr. Eduardo C. Cuansing, Jr. Pumping Electrons in a Nanojunction Using Time-Varying Gates
Dr. Alvin Karlo G. Tapia Charge Transport Properties in Disordered Systems in the Low-frequency Regions
Dr. Nonnatus S. Bautista Diversity in ​Vitex negundo L.: Morphological, Genetic, Histochemical and Molecular Characterization
Dr. Jaderick P. Pabico Generation of a Probabilistic Volcanic Ashfall Hazard Map of the 2020 ​Taal​ Eruption
Dr. Jomar F. Rabajante Journeys and Challenges: UPLB Biomath COVID-19 Response


The Development of a Power Monitoring System with the Intent of Maximizing Energy Efficiency

Indoor Localization using Wireless Access Points in the Physical Sciences Building, University of the Philippines Los Baños

Hydrogen Adsorption on and Absorption in Palladium/Vanadium surface: A Density Functional Theory Study


Poster Paper Presentation

Dr. Joan Cecilia C. Casila
Dr. Pamela Custodio
Dr. Francisco B.Elegado

Oral Paper Presentation
(Junior Faculty Category)

Prof. Girlie Nora Abrigo
Dr. Ranzivelle Marianne Roxas-Villanueva
Prof. Winifredo B. Dagli

Oral Paper Presentation
(Senior Faculty Category)

Dr. Darwin Putungan
Dr. Jey-R Ventura
Dr. Nina M. Cadiz

Organizing Committee

Conference Chair
CAS Research Committee Chair
Dr. Maria Art Antonette D. Clariño
Conference Co-Chair
Dr. Chrysline Margus N. Piñol, Associate Dean
CAS Research Committee Co-Chair
Dr. April Hope T. Castro
Conference Website (Website Committee)
Prof. Monina Gazelle Charina B. Carandang
Documentation (Library Committee)
Dr. Annabelle T. Abrera

CAS Research Committee Members

Registration and Secretariat Committee Chair
Dr. Maria Eleanor B. Aurellado
Registration and Secretariat Committee Co-Chair
Prof. Pauline Gidget R. Estella
Registration and Secretariat Committee Members
Prof. Desamarie Antonette P. Fernandez

Dr. Charina Gracia B. Banaay

Dr. Ma. Gregoria Joanne Tiquio

Prof. Aprill S. Manalang

Dr. Rina B. Opulencia

Dr. Rachel C. Sotto

Technical Papers and Scientific Sessions Committee Chair
Dr. Marvin U. Herrera
Technical Papers and Scientific Sessions Committee Co-Chair
Dr. April Hope T. Castro
Technical Papers and Scientific Sessions Committee Members
Dr. Herbert Palines
Prof. Marco Miguel P. Parel

Judging and Awards Committee Chair
Prof. Marie Joy F. Lopez
Judging and Awards Committee Co-Chairs
Prof. Ruby Lynn G. Ventura
Dr. Ma. Desiree B. Aldemita

Judging and Awards Committee Members
Prof. Karl Ondoy

Ms. Paulyn Micor

Prof. Ronald Roldan

Prof. Leonard Almero

Prof. Elgin San Gabriel

Prof. Maritess Magalona

Online Logistics Committee Chair
Ms. Katherine Loren Tan
Online Logistics Committee Members
Ms. Kristine Bernadette Pelaez

Mr. Perico Dan B. Dionisio

Ms. Maria Erika Dominique C. Cunanan