In line with the purpose of stimulating enthusiasm for, and awareness in, the field of Chemistry, the UPLB Chemical Society held KAPNAYAN 2016 pegged with the theme “Aligning Chemistry Education with ASEAN Integration Towards Global Competitiveness in Agro-Industrial Technology,” last January 18-23, 2016.

The 14th in the series, KAPNAYAN is one of the largest nationwide events in Chemistry. It focuses on different activities that promote Chemistry in various aspects of daily life, from health and medicine, popular technology, and energy efficiency, to research and academics.

This year’s KAPNAYAN focused on the ASEAN integration of Chemistry education towards global competitiveness in agro-industrial processes. The event started with a message from H.E. Elizabeth P. Buensuceso, the Permanent Representative of the Philippines to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations; and Dr. Benigno D. Peczon, President of the Coalition for Agricultural Modernization in the Philippines, Inc.

Among the highlights of the activity are educational trips, seminars that featured discussions from distinguished academics like Dr. Ruel C. Nacario and Dr. Evelyn Mae Tecson-Mendoza, a Chemical Magic Show, and investigatory project, poster making, extemporaneous speaking, essay writing, and Chemistry quiz competitions participated in by high school students from all over the country. Emerging as the winners in these competitive events are the following: Investigatory Project – Marvin Jericho E. Cava, Beatrice Gail C. Burgonio, and Pancho E. Ruedas, “Design and Synthesis of Graphene/ZnO Hybrid Electrodes for Flexible High-Performance Supercapacitors” (Philippine Science High School – Ilocos Region campus); Poster Making – Leopoldo Aquino (Don Bosco College); Essay Writing – Sophia Rochelle Tidoso (Sotero B. Cabahug Forum for Literacy); Extemporaneous Speaking – Jericho Dayne Angcana; Alumni Choice – Victoria Mae Sugepang (De La Salle University –Junior High School); and National Chemistry Quiz Contest – Junifer R. Sombilon, Jr., Dann Lawrence G. Llabore, and Althea Angela L. Roy (Philippine Science High School- Southern Mindanao Campus).